We have the distinction of being the first Baptist Church in the state of Virginia (1762). OGBC has a rich history in this area but also has a rich spiritual history serving the Lord faithfully for 247 years.
The original building on the Pungo Ridge was burned some 45 years after erection. It is believed that all early records were lost in the fire. Our written church recors date back to 1837. Sometime before the Civil War, the sanctuary was moved, perhaps several times, before being located in a grove of red and white oak trees used to tie horses of those attending services.
During the Civil War Federal troops in the area used this building to stable their horses, creating a need to refurbish the building after the war. Though the native oaks have long since disappeared, the church has remained on the same site since then.
During its long and colorful history, Oak Grove has been responsible in the organization of five daughter churches: Blackwater Baptist (1774), London Bridge Baptist (1784), St. John's Baptist (1853), Little Piney Grove Baptist (1870), and Knotts Island Baptist (1876).